Afrosound | La Danza De Los Mirlos

Afrosound | La Danza De Los Mirlos


Regular price
Sold out
Sale price
Unit price
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Afrosound’s mission was to emulate the guitar-heavy tropical sounds emanating from Perú and Ecuador at the time. To add to the hippie vibe, there were plenty of whacky improvised vocal asides (called ‘inspiraciones’), plus custom fuzz, wah-wah, flange and echo effects boxes for the guitar and keyboards. A barrage of odd sounding synths, drum machines and other electronic flourishes were also sprinkled in to spice up the proceedings.

The dozen tracks on Afrosound’s debut long play make for a surprisingly diverse palette from which these Colombian musicians painted their daring portrait of Peruvian cumbia, returning the favor in bold colors that still resonate almost 50 years later.

“La danza de los mirlos” kicks off with most famous Afrosound hit of all, ‘Caliventura’, a genius blend of funk and cumbia. Also, there are several covers including various Colombian costeño classics, a groove oriented son montuno / cumbia hybrid, Fruko’s bomba-funk ditty ‘El chorrillo’, the melancholic psychedelic cumbia ‘Esperando por ti’ and the rocking cumbia andina gem ‘Cabeza de chorlito’.

This lovingly restored reissue features the artwork for the Peruvian edition, which was licensed and issued by Lima’s El Virrey label in 1974.

A1 Caliventura
A2 En La Espesura Del Bosque
A3 El Forastero
A4 El Chorrillo
A5 Esperando Por Ti
A6 La Cancion Del Viajero
B1 Sabor Navideño
B2 La Danza De Los Mirlos
B3 La Magdalena
B4 Cachucha Bacana
B5 Cabeza De Chorlito
B6 La Sirena