Augustus Pablo | Original Rockers

Augustus Pablo | Original Rockers


Greensleeves / VP Records
Regular price
Sale price
Unit price
Shipping calculated at checkout.

A transcendent album which captures a real moment in time & space, ‘Original Rockers’ is the quintessential Augustus Pablo LP. Expertly compiled by the late, great Dave Hendley, who at the time was really pivotal in chronicling authentic Jamaican music through his work as both a journalist and photographer. ‘Original Rockers’ is a showcase of Pablo’s work from 1972-75, a period which was particularly fruitful for Pablo and his ‘Far East Sound’, especially as the tracks were mixed at the great King Tubby’s studio by the King himself.

For this re-issue we have expanded the 'Original Rockers' album with a second disc of further cuts of its classic rhythms. The original 1979 Greensleeves compilation was instrumental in bringing the music of Augustus Pablo to an international audience and with this official deluxe edition, made with full approval of the original compilers, we pay tribute to that landmark release and ensure the music and memory of Augustus Pablo continue to live on.

1. Rockers All Stars - Rockers (dub)
2. Augustus Pablo - Up Wareika Hill
3. Augustus Pablo - Cassaca Piece ('79 Style)
4. Augustus Pablo - Pablo's Theme Song
5. Pablo All Stars - Jah Dread
6. Dillinger - Brace A Boy
7. Augustus Pablo - Thunder Clap
8. Pablo All Stars - Park Lane Special
9. Pablo All Stars - New Style
10. Pablo All Stars - AP Special
11. The Heptones - Love Won't Come Easy
12. Augustus Pablo - Mountain View (dub)
13. Big Youth - Cassava Rock
14. King Tubby - Tubby's Dub Song
15. King Tubby - Tubby's Dub Song (dub version 2)
16. Pablo All Stars - Jah Dread (7" version)
17. Augustus Pablo - Brace A Boy (dub version 2)
18. Augustus Pablo - Tribalist
19. Pablo All Stars - Lightning Flash
20. Augustus Pablo - Africa (dub)
21. Bongo Pat - Young Generation
22. Augustus Pablo - AP Special (version 2)