Fotheringay | Fotheringay - Hex Record Shop

Fotheringay | Fotheringay


Caroline International
Regular price
Sold out
Sale price
Unit price
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Following her departure from Fairport Convention at that end of 1969, Sandy Denny formed the short lived folk-rock group, Fotheringay, with her husband Trevor Lucas and released their debut album on Island Records in 1970. The band was comprised of Sandy on vocals, guitar and piano, Trevor Lucas on acoustic guitar and vocals plus ex-Eclection drummer, Gerry Conway, and former members of Poet and The One Man Band, Jerry Donahue on lead guitar and vocals and Pat Donaldson on bass and backing vocals. The album comprises of 4 Sandy Denny originals, one song co-written with Trevor Lucas, the Trevor Lucas penned, “Ballad of Ned Kelly” plus covers of Bob Dylan’s “Too Much of Nothing” and Gordon Lightfoot’s “The Way I Feel”, all rounded off by the epic traditional song, “Banks of The Nile”. The album was produced by legendary American producer Joe Boyd and sports an iconic sleeve painted by Marion Appleton, sister of Trevor Lucas. Following the release of the album, Sandy left to pursue a solo career and the band split up without completing their 2nd album. Sandy briefly re-joined Fairport Convention in 1975 for their ‘Rising For The Moon’ album and died following a fall in 1978. The other members of the band joined the floating line-up of Fairport Convention. Presented in the original gatefold sleeve on 180gram vinyl, this is the first time that the album has been available on vinyl for over 20 years.

A1 Nothing More 4:34
A2 The Sea 5:25
A3 The Ballad Of Ned Kelly 3:29
A4 Winter Winds 2:20
A5 Peace In The End 7:21
B1 The Way I Feel 3:52
B2 The Pond And The Stream 3:13
B3 Too Much Of Nothing
B4 Banks Of The Nile 8:18