Gene Clark | With the Gosdin Brothers - Hex Record Shop

Gene Clark | With the Gosdin Brothers


Regular price
Sold out
Sale price
Unit price
Shipping calculated at checkout.
LP 5062

On the first solo album by an ex-Byrd, Gene Clark doesn't stray too far from the nest. Cut in 1966 upon Clark's departure from the iconic L.A. combo, with current Byrds Chris Hillman and Michael Clarke forming the rhythm section, and spotlighting brothers Vern and Rex Gosdin, a pair of former bluegrass pals of Hillman's who chime in with sweet harmony vocals, Gene Clark with the Gosdin Brothers stands as one of Clark's supreme achievements. Add session guitarists Glen Campbell and Jerry Cole and future Byrd Clarence White and beautiful orchestration by Leon Russell to Clark's melancholy melodies and weatherbeaten voice and the result is a classic country-rock primer that sounded like nothing else in '67 and continues to astound and inspire today.  Three previously unheard bonus tracks from the sessions only sweeten the deal of this eye-opening work.

A1 Echoes 3:15
A2 Think I'm Gonna Feel Better 1:33
A3 Tried So Hard 2:18
A4 Is Yours Is Mine 2:31
A5 Keep On Pushin' 1:44
A6 I Found You 2:57
A7 Only Colombe 3:00
B1 So You Say You Lost Your Baby 2:06
B2 Elevator Operator 2:46
B3 The Same One 3:27
B4 Couldn't Believe Her 2:03
B5 Needing Someone 2:02
B6 The French Girl 2:35
B7 So You Say You Lost Your Baby (Demo) 2:19