Girls of the Internet | Syrup - Hex Record Shop

Girls of the Internet | Syrup


Drab Queen
Regular price
Sold out
Sale price
Unit price
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Since their debut single ‘When U Go’ on Classic in 2017, Girls of the Internet have been on a unstoppable trajectory, constantly building momentum over the past two years with their own brand of future facing house & soul music. Drawing inspiration from the past 40 years of dance music, Girls’ music joins the dots between disco, house, techno, bass, ghetto and dub - creating music that glances back into dance music’s history, whilst keeping it’s eyes firmly on the future.

Recorded over the past 2 years, the live electronic outfits debut album ‘SYRUP’ pulls together nine distinct and unique British voices; some up-and-coming, some industry veterans who find themselves overlooked in favour of younger artists in recent years. ‘SYRUP’ contributors include Benji B and Damon Albarn-approved Poté, original Brand New Heavy Linda Muriel, rising soul star Jitwam, award winning gospel singer Charmain Elliott and legendary Cinematic Orchestra vocalist Heidi Vogel, avant-garde soul crooner Alxndr London, bassline & RnB diva Olivia Louise, and “progressive soul” singer-songwriter Sarah Williams-White. All of which are tied together by Girls of the Internet’s bold production; mixing live instrumentation with heavy electronics, analogue synths and crisp drum programming forming a refreshingly, standout combination that places them at the forefront of today’s scene.

A1. Patience featuring Poté
A2. Humble featuring Linda Muriel
B1. Take Back featuring Charmain Elliott
B2. Hello Judy featuring Alxndr London
C1. U Changed featuring Olivia Louise
C2. Sun Comes Up featuring Sarah Williams-White
D1. Still featuring Heidi Vogel
D2. What U Done 4 Me featuring ?