Hen Ogledd | Free Humans

Hen Ogledd | Free Humans


Weird World
Regular price
Sold out
Sale price
Unit price
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Hen Ogledd – the quartet consisting of Dawn Bothwell, Rhodri Davies, Richard Dawson and Sally Pilkington – take a deliberately organic and natural approach on their second album ‘Free Humans’, out on Weird World.

Inspired as much by ABBA as the work of 12th Century mystic-composer-naturalist-visionary Hildegard von Bingen, touched equally by the spirits of radical philosophical plumber Mary Midgley and PC Music star Hannah Diamond, as quiet as the paintings of Agnes Martin yet bombastic like a Werner Herzog documentary… it’s an album of seamless, glorious contradictions.

Tackling themes of love, friendship, Gaia theory, sewers, the nature of time, human stench and the thrills of wild swimming, it’s remarkable that, given the intense collision of influences and wide-ranging ideas at play, ‘Free Humans’ somehow coheres into a marvellous whole.

Double LP includes digital download code.

Available to independent retailers on coloured (one yellow disc and one blue disc) vinyl with digital download code.

1. Farewell
2. Trouble
3. Earworm
4. Crimson Star
5. Kebran Gospel Gossip
6. Remains
7. Paul is 9ft Tall (Marsh Gas)
8. Space Golf
9. Time Party
10. The Loch Ness Monster’s Song
11. Flickering Lights
12. Bwganod
13. Feral
14. Skinny Dippers