Insides | Euphoria - Hex Record Shop
Insides | Euphoria - Hex Record Shop
Insides | Euphoria - Hex Record Shop

Insides | Euphoria


Beacon Sound
Regular price
Sold out
Sale price
Unit price
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Beacon Sound present a reissue of the 1993 album Euphoria by UK duo Insides (previously Earwig). Euphoria sits at the crossroads of a very exciting time in the early 1990s when artists like Seefeel, Moonshake, and Aphex Twin were mining emerging technologies and pushing British music in new directions.

A leftfield electronic pop album without peer, Euphoria incorporates programmed beats, elements of neoclassical minimalism, and the soothing voice and acerbic lyrics of singer Kirsty Yates into a memorable and masterful collection of songs that sound Like nothing else, either then or now. Reviews at the time reference composers like Steve Reich and Brian Eno as well as groups like My Bloody Valentine and AR Kane and describe it as being both "danceable" and "ambient".

Originally released on 4AD offshoot label Guernica (Unrest, Bettie Serveert, Spoonfed Hybrid), it made many year-end lists in 1993 and demands rediscovery and reappraisal in 2019 given our current era of genre-splicing experimentation. Licensed from 4AD and remastered by Julian Tardo from HD audio files transferred from the original tapes, this RSD release features the original packaging as well as a new insert with press clippings from the era and liner notes by Simon Reynolds, who coined the term "post-rock" while writing about the group in 1993. Limited edition of 2000; gold-foil numbering.

A1 Walking In Straight Lines
A2 Bent Double
A3 Darling Effect
A4 Distractions
A5 Relentless
B1 Skin Divers
B2 Carly Simon
B3 Yes
B4 Skykicking