Joy Orbison | still slipping vol.1

Joy Orbison | still slipping vol.1


XL Recordings
Regular price
Sold out
Sale price
Unit price
Shipping calculated at checkout.

‘still slipping vol.1’ is the debut full length project from Joy Orbison. Fans of Joy O’s DJ sets and radio shows will already be aware of his diverse tastes and inspirations, represented here through a roll call of delicately curated, mainly UK, collaborators that include Herron, James Massiah, Bathe, Léa Sen, Goya Gumbani and TYSON.

Just as important are the voices of Joy Orbison’s family – mum, dad, sister Sarah, uncle Frankie, uncle Keith (recently departed), auntie Helen and cousins Lola and Mia, as well as Leighann, who was the first person to introduce him to drum and bass and garage as a kid and stars on the mixtape’s cover art.

They appear throughout the record via a series of voice notes, his only contact with his family during this year of worldwide lockdown and an intimate, vicarious glimpse into the personal world of an artist who has generally side-stepped the public gaze.

01. w/ dad & frankie
02. sparko (feat. Herron)
03. swag w/ kav (feat. James Massiah & Bathe)
04. better (feat. Léa Sen)
05. bernard?
06. runnersz
07. rraine (feat. Edna)
08. glorious amateurs
09. s gets jaded
10. froth sipping
11. layer 6
12. in drink
13. playground (feat. Goya Gumbani)
14. born slipping (feat. TYSON)