Lou Barlow ‎| Emoh - Hex Record Shop
Lou Barlow ‎| Emoh - Hex Record Shop

Lou Barlow ‎| Emoh


Regular price
Sold out
Sale price
Unit price
Shipping calculated at checkout.

The first album Lou Barlow released under his own name celebrates its 15th anniversary with a 2-LP reissue, marking its domestic debut on vinyl. Housed in printed paper sleeves inside a gatefold jacket with lyrics. Includes full album download plus 8 digital bonus tracks of demos from the era.

'Emoh was released in January 2005, within a day or two of my first child, Hannelore, being born. I put my real name on it, and it felt like the beginning of a new, more confident era. At the same time, I was asked to rejoin Dinosaur Jr, so, instead of spending the next year touring in support of Emoh, I started a Dinosaur Jr reunion that continues to this day. It was a bittersweet decision because my LP was warmly received and seemed to point to a self-reliant future.

Though Emoh was a positive step forward for me, listening to it now, I realize the songs clearly track the slow dissolution of my first marriage, the fatal break of several partnerships, and my struggle to acclimate to living in LA. That I was able to describe my decline in such detail then hand it out to friends and family members as my “comeback” LP kind of amazes me now'.

—Lou Barlow, March 2020

A1 Holding Back The Year
A3 Caterpillar Girl
A4 Legendary
B1 Royalty
B2 Puzzle
B3 If I Could
C1 Monkey Begun
C2 Morning's After Me
C3 Round-n-Round
C4 Mary
D1 Confused
D2 Imagined Life
D3 The Ballad of Daykitty