Makaya McCraven | Universal Beings E&F Sides

Makaya McCraven | Universal Beings E&F Sides


International Anthem
Regular price
Sale price
Unit price
Shipping calculated at checkout.

A new project by Chicago-based drummer/producer Makaya McCraven. An addendum to his critically-acclaimed 2018 release Universal Beings, which The New York Times said “affirms the drummer and beatsmith’s position as a major figure in creative music,” Universal Beings E&F Sides presents fourteen new pieces of organic beat music cut from the original sessions, prepared and produced by Makaya as a soundtrack to the Universal Beings documentary film.

Directed by Mark Pallman, the Universal Beings documentary follows Makaya to Los Angeles, Chicago, London and New York City for a behind the scenes look into the making of the artists breakthrough album, taking the viewer through the story of Makaya’s life, his process and the community of musicians that helped bring this project to life. The Universal Beings documentary and Universal Beings E&F Sides album will be released on International Anthem.

Named one of the best jazz albums of 2018 by The New York Times, Rolling Stone, NPR, Stereogum, Billboard, SPIN, The Wall Street Journal, The Chicago Tribune, and more, Universal Beings was recorded at four sessions in New York, Chicago, London and Los Angeles, and features some of the best “new” jazz players from those hot bed cities: Brandee Younger, Tomeka Reid, Dezron Douglas, Joel Ross, Shabaka Hutchings, Junius Paul, Nubya Garcia, Daniel Casimir, Ashley Henry, Josh Johnson, Jeff Parker, Anna Butters, Carlos Niño and Miguel-Atwood Ferguson – all of whom are on the forthcoming Universal Beings E&F Sides.

01. Everybody Cool
02. Half Steppin’
03. Mak Attack
04. The Hunt
05. Beat Science
06. Dadada
07. Isms
08. Traveling Space
09. Kings and Queens
10. The Loneliness
11. Her Name
12. Universal Beings pt 2
13. Butterss Fly
14. The Way Home