Margaret Glaspy ‎| Devotion - Hex Record Shop

Margaret Glaspy ‎| Devotion


Regular price
Sold out
Sale price
Unit price
Shipping calculated at checkout.

On sandstone beige vinyl.

Brooklyn singer-songwriter Margaret Glaspy returns with her highly anticipated new album Devotion, on March 27 through ATO Records.

Devotion follows Glaspy’s first full-length since her acclaimed debut 2016 Emotions and Math and marks an entirely new sonic chapter for her. Glaspy has built a reputation as a skilled guitarist, and Emotions and Math was notable for its swaggering electric guitar sounds; on this new offering she shifted gears and built songs with electronic software as their base. The results – co-produced with Los Angeles’ Tyler Chester – are rich, sweeping, and melodic, a fittingly enchanting sound for a collection of twelve love songs.

“It’s about letting love in even when you don’t know what will happen when you do,” says Glaspy. “It’s about devoting your heart to someone or something, against all odds.”

Margaret Glaspy emerged as an audacious new musical presence in 2016, that saw The Sunday Times wowed by her “folk introspection to feral, grungy blues, with lyrics full of visceral self-laceration and hard-won perspective.” The New York Times
hailing her as “a singer-songwriter who specializes in giving her confessional tunes a distorted crunch.” On release Emotions and Math quickly accrued plaudits; Stereogum proffered “a bold and career-defining debut” and called Glaspy “one of the year’s most exciting breakout acts,” while Pitchfork raved, “These songs share the self-scrutinizing intimacy of Elliott Smith and the imaginative melodic intonations of Joni Mitchell … Glaspy is a lyricist who can toggle between distanced storytelling and open-hearted self-examination with equal ease.”

Glaspy gave high-profile performances on Late Night With Conan O’Brien and NPR Music’s Tiny Desk, appeared at Newport Folk Festival, and toured with the likes of Wilco, Neko Case, and Andrew Bird.

1. Killing What Keeps Us Alive
2. Without Him
3. Young Love
4. You’ve Got My Number
5. Stay With Me
6. So Wrong It’s Right
7. Heartbreak
8. You Amaze Me
9. Devotion
10. Vicious
11. What’s The Point
12. Consequences