Nada Surf | Let Go

Nada Surf | Let Go


Heavenly Recordings
Regular price
Sale price
Unit price
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Heavenly Recordings have announced a 20th anniversary vinyl release of Nada Surf’s classic album Let Go. This will be the first time Let Go has appeared on Heavenly vinyl.

Let Go was the third album by the New York trio Nada Surf (Matthew Caws, Daniel Lorca, Ira Eliot). By the time it was released on Heavenly in the summer of 2002, the band had already witnessed a good deal of the highs and lows of the music industry, having had a breakout MTV hit before being dropped by their US label and having to go back to 9 to 5 jobs. Sessions were entirely self-funded, with the band paying the producers in dollar bills earned from the merch table at their shows.

When a cassette of the album initially arrived at Heavenly, it was with no preconceptions, just a “you’ll like this” nod from a mutual friend. And they were right. Let Go is a power pop masterpiece - all soaring melody and closing time melancholy. It quickly became the soundtrack to day and night in the office and on release picked up glowing reviews from Q (“melodic… mature… intelligent… wistful” 4*), Rolling Stone ("Nada Surf show enough smarts and panache to leave most of their Nineties-rock peers eating hot dust” 4*) and Entertainment Weekly (“a comeback effort that grows more popular with each spin”).

Twenty years on, Let Go is getting its first ever vinyl release on Heavenly. This new cut reinstates the UK tracklisting over four sides of vinyl (previous pressings were over three sides with one side left blank - us neither).

A1. Blizzard Of ’77
A2. The Way You Wear Your Head
A3. Fruit Fly
B1.. Blonde On Blonde
B2. Inside Of Love
B3. Hi-Speed Soul
C1. No Quick Fix
C2. Killian’s Red
C3. Là Pour Ça
D1. Happy Kid
D2. Treading Water
D3. Paper Boats