Robert Forster ‎| Inferno - Hex Record Shop

Robert Forster ‎| Inferno


Tapete Records
Regular price
Sale price
Unit price
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Inferno is acclaimed Australian singer-songwriter Robert Forster's first solo album in four years - his second album over the last eleven years. Forster only makes records when he feels he has the songs - on Inferno, he has nine he totally believes in. They range from the exhilarating top ten pop of Inferno (Brisbane In Summer), the beach shack groove of Life Has Turned A Page, via 'Remain's 1977 New York strut, to finish in a way that this concise, brilliant, drama and wit filled album only can - on the big build epic One Bird In The Sky.

Inferno was made in Berlin in 2018, during the hottest German summer in decades. Noted producer / engineer Victor Van Vugt (Beth Orton Trailer Park, P J Harvey Stories From The City, Stories From The Sea), recorded the album; the first time he and Forster had worked together since Van Vugt engineered Forster's debut solo album classic Danger In The Past in Berlin in 1990.

Inferno in its making is a perfect mix of the familiar and the new. Also working with Forster again, are Brisbane based multi-instrumentalists Scott Bromley and Karin Bãumler from Songs To Play (2015), while new recruits are drummer Earl Havin (Tindersticks, Mary J. Blige) and keyboardist Michael Muhlhaus (Blumfeld, Kante). Four musicians from the corners of the world, who, with Van Vugt's bold and beautiful production, sound like a band of the ages. In front of them, Forster delivers the best vocal performances of his career.

A1 Crazy Jane And The Day Of Judgement
A2 No Fame
A3 Inferno (Brisbane In Summer)
A4 The Morning
B1 Life Has Turned A Page
B2 Remain
B3 I'll Look After You
B4 I'm Gonna Tell It
B5 One Bird In The Sky