Scritti Politti | Anomie & Bonhomie

Scritti Politti | Anomie & Bonhomie


Rough Trade
Regular price
Sale price
Unit price
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Originally released in 1999 & only on CD, never released as an LP.

Includes sleeve notes written by Green Gartside & David Gamson

11 years after the release of previous album Provision, Scritti Politti erupted back into life with 1999’s Anomie & Bonhomie. Recalibrated, re-evaluated, re-imagined and, eventually, rewarded. Anomie & Bonhomie is the heady results of this artistic rebirth. Illuminated by the band’s stylish pure pop spotlight, collaborations with Mos Def, Lee Majors and Wendy Melvoin give the record a neon-lit, nocturnal shimmer. Hip hop flourishes sit side-by-side with heart-hitting balladry, as truly touching melodies match moments of uncompromising musical grit with their emotional impact.

1. Umm
2. Tinseltown
3. First Goodbye
4. Die Alone
5. Mystic Handyman
6. Smith ’N’ Slappy
7. Born To Be
8. The World You Understand (Is Over & Over & Over)
9. Here Comes July
10. Prince Among Men
11. Brushed With Oil, Dusted With Powder