Soul Jazz Records Presents: Two Synths, A Guitar (And) A Drum Machine : Post Punk Dance Vol. 1

Soul Jazz Records Presents: Two Synths, A Guitar (And) A Drum Machine : Post Punk Dance Vol. 1


Soul Jazz Records
Regular price
Sale price
Unit price
Shipping calculated at checkout.

On double neon green vinyl.

Soul Jazz Records’ new ‘Two Synths, A Guitar (And) A Drum Machine’ is a new collection of current DIY post-punk shaped by the mutant sounds of no wave, punk funk and New York Noise bands from the late 70s and early 80s that collided with the world of underground dance music found at the Paradise Garage, Mudd Club in New York City (ESG, Arthur Russell, Bush Tetras, Talking Heads, Suicide, Liquid Liquid).

Other influences cited here include Manchester and Sheffield’s industrial post-punk sounds of the 1980s (Joy Division, Cabaret Voltaire, Gang of Four) as well as the 1970s German electronic experimentalism of Cluster, Neu!, Harmonia and Can.

Featured artists from around the globe include Los Angeles DIY band Automatic, New Fries from Toronto, artist/music collaborators Toresch from Germany, Susumu Makai from Japan/UK, Vex Ruffin from the Philippines/California and Madmadmad, Gramme, Tom of England and other UK groups.

That all the bands featured here manage to make distinctive contemporary music out of these 80s roots is testament to the wide range of other musics that are seamlessly absorbed into a modern melting pot of sound – hip hop, the electronic European avant-garde, rave culture and more.

01. Automatic – Too Much Money
02. Zongamin – Underwater Paramid
03. New Fries – Lily
04. Vex Ruffin & Fab 5 Freddy – The Balance
05. Ixna – Somebody Said
06. Leroy Duncann – Dream River
07. Tom Of England – Neon Green
08. Toresch – Tocar
09. Becker & Mukai – La Rivière des Perles
10. Gramme – Discolovers
11. Niagara – Ida
12. Charles Manier – Sift Through Art Collecting People
13. Black Deer – Baseball Shorts
14. Madmadmad – Hot Disco
15. Wino D – Untitled