Sufjan Stevens & Lowell Brams ‎| Aporia - Hex Record Shop

Sufjan Stevens & Lowell Brams ‎| Aporia


Asthmatic Kitty Records
Regular price
Sale price
Unit price
Shipping calculated at checkout.

On yellow vinyl.

Aporia is a New Age album from Sufjan Stevens and his step-father and record label co-owner, Lowell Brams.

In the spirit of the New Age composers who sanded off the edges of their synths’ sawtooth waves, Aporia approximates a rich soundtrack from an imagined sci-fi epic brimming with moody, hooky, gauzy synthesizer soundscapes.

The album may suggest the progeny of a John Carpenter, Wendy Carlos, and Mike Oldfield marriage, but it stands apart from these touchstones and generates a meditative universe all its own. This is no mere curio in the Sufjan Stevens catalog – but a fully realized collaborative musical piece.

A1 Ousia 2:33
A2 What It Takes 3:24
A3 Disinheritance 1:13
A4 Agathon 3:03
A5 Determined Outcome 2:13
A6 Misology 1:50
A7 Afterworld Alliance 2:47
A8 Palinodes 0:33
A9 Backhanded Cloud 1:26
A10 Glorious You 1:50
B11 For Raymond Scott 0:35
B12 Matronymic 0:58
B13 The Red Desert 2:54
B14 Conciliation 1:20
B15 Ataraxia 1:13
B16 The Unlimited 2:15
B17 The Runaround 3:35
B18 Climb That Mountain 3:00
B19 Captain Praxis 2:14
B20 Eudaimonia 2:20
B21 The Lydian Ring 1:03