The Chameleons | Strange Times (35th Anniversary Black Edition)

The Chameleons | Strange Times (35th Anniversary Black Edition)


Moochin About
Regular price
Sale price
Unit price
Shipping calculated at checkout.

On double smoked vinyl.

The Chameleons (arguably the best band to come out of Manchester) with their critically acclaimed classic third album, ‘Strange Times’. Recorded on the legendary Geffen label, it sees the band’s atmospheric post punk anthems with soaring guitars and driving rhythms at their peak, and Mark Burgess’s compelling vocals coming together to form a wall of the most beautiful noise you’ve ever heard.

In a post on his Instagram account in 2018, Oasis guitarist Noel Gallagher cited ‘Strange Times’ as an early influence on his songwriting: “I’d forgotten how much this album meant to me. It came out in ‘86. I was 19!! I’ve been listening to it every day since and I have to say it’s blown my mind… again! It must have influenced my early years as a songwriter because I can hear ME in it everywhere!”

Burgess later said, “‘Strange Times’ is my favourite. Personally, I believe it was the best lyrical work I’d done with the band and some of the best vocal performances, and I think the Chameleons really began to mature and move forward with this album…”

‘Strange Times’ was praised by the critics. Ian Gittins of Melody Maker called it “a marvellous departure” from their previous work and “a wonderful record.” Robert Palmer of The New York Times described it as “the band’s most inventive and winning album yet, and as a fine a record as any pop-rock guitar band has made this year. it should delight just about anyone.”

The Chameleons have long been named as an influence on bands such as The Flaming Lips, The Killers, The Editors and Smashing Pumpkins.

The album has been mastered by Steve Hall, whose works include The Flaming Lips’ ‘The Soft Bulletin’, Janes Addiction’s ‘Nothing Shocking’, Tom Petty ‘Full Moon Fever’, Green Day ‘Nimrod’, Blondie ‘Parallel Lines’ and ‘No Exit’, Alice in Chains ‘Dirt’ and The Beach Boys’ ‘Pet Sounds’.

01. Mad Jack
02. Caution
03. Tears
04. Soul in Isolation
05. Swamp Thing
06. Time/End of Time
07. Seriocity
08. In Answer
09. Childhood
10. I’ll Remember
11. Tears (full arrangement)
12. Ever After
13. Paradiso
14. Inside out
15. John I’m Only Dancing
16. Tomorrow Never Knows