The Chills | Kaleidoscope World

The Chills | Kaleidoscope World


Flying Nun
Regular price
Sale price
Unit price
Shipping calculated at checkout.

2022 repress.

Kaleidoscope World is not just the starting point for The Chills, but a story of how it all began and an insight into the world of New Zealand guitar-pop and the 'Dunedin Sound' - an influence which carries on to indie-pop bands around the world today.

Originally released in 1986, the compilation captures the best of the magical early period recordings of The Chills and simply oozes excitement and possibility. The zany brightness of the cover art against the black background only hints at the wonder contained within.

Now re-issued again on a deluxe 2xLP and CD set, featuring six bonus, b-sides, demos and live tracks plus an expanded gatefold cover with photos, posters and liner notes from journalist Martin Aston.

As Flying Nun label founder Roger Shepherd put it - Kaleidoscope World is "complex, varied but simple and direct. Musically sophisticated but joyous, poppy and accessible. Essential."

The world's first look at The Chills came via the 1982 Dunedin Double compilation - featuring four acts (The Chills, The Verlaines, Sneaky Feelings and The Stones) all hailed from the New Zealand city in the deep south. Recorded on a portable 4 track it was distinctly lo-fi and in tune with the do it yourself ethic at the heart of the burgeoning Flying Nun label.

It was sound in part born out of geography and location, with the spaciousness and remoteness of New Zealand itself matched with the glowing songs of chief Chill -Martin Phillipps - a music-savant that somehow wrangles psychedelic pop and folk, Syd Barrett and Brian Wilson, all with Phillipps' innate ability to sound both joyous and sad within a moment.

The Chills were one of the early Flying Nun bands to make their way overseas in the 80s and the first UK voyage resulted in UK indie Creation Records also picking up the release of Kaleidoscope World over there. What was initially 8 songs (later expanded to 18 and now 24) have a unique bittersweet innocence from the title track through to the happy-sad aura of "Frantic Drift" and "Rolling Moon".

A1 Kaleidoscope World
A2 Satin Doll
A3 Frantic Drift
A4 Rolling Moon
A5 Bite
B1 Flame Thrower
B2 Pink Frost
B3 Purple Girl
B4 This Is The Way
B5 Never Never Go
B6 Don't Even Know Her Name
B7 Bee Bah Bee Bah Bee Boe
C1 Whole Weird World
C2 Dream By Dream
C3 Doledrums
C4 Hidden Bay
C5 I Love My Leather Jacket
C6 The Great Escape
D1 Oncoming Day (Early Version)
D2 Dan Destiny and the Silver Dawn (Unplugged)
D3 Martyns Doctor Told Me
D4 I'll Only See You Alone Again
D5 Green Eyed Owl (Live)
D6 Smile From a Dead Dead Face (Live)