The Free Design | Sing For Very Important People

The Free Design | Sing For Very Important People


Light in the Attic
Regular price
Sale price
Unit price
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Release date: Friday 11th December 2020

On splatter vinyl.

The Free Design make childhood a bit more psychedelic with this 1970’s children’s album, featuring many of the group’s classic favorites, plus a number of new cuts!

Excerpt from CD Liner Notes (by The Free Design’s Bruce Dedrick):
Back in 1969, we were all big fans of PPM and when Mary Travers became a mother, they released the Peter, Paul and Mommy album. I think it was one of the seeds that resulted in the germination of the Free Design Sings for Very Important People album. Other contributing factors included the fact that we were all parents by then and that several (“Bubbles”, “Kites”, “Daniel Dolphin”) of our songs already on our other albums were ideal for a children’s album. Our father, Art Dedrick, a prolific composer of Concert Band, Jazz Band and Choral music had a song he had written years before called “Little Cowboy” that was perfect for the album and Sandy’s “Love You” fit right in. Sesame Street the TV program was in full swing and that theme was one we had fun within the studio. The album is full of lyrical references either to our childhood or that of our own children.

A1 Don't Cry, Baby 3:04
A2 Can You Tell Me How To Get To Sesame Street? 2:12
A3 Children's Waltz 4:15
A4 Scarlet Tree 2:10
A5 Little Cowboy 3:50
B1 Love You 2:25
B2 Ronda Go 'Round 2:33
B3 Bubbles 2:15
B4 Daniel Dolphin 3:27
B5 Kites Are Fun 2:34
B6 Lullaby 1:28