The Gloria Record ‎| A Lull In Traffic - Hex Record Shop

The Gloria Record ‎| A Lull In Traffic


Big Scary Monsters
Regular price
Sold out
Sale price
Unit price
Shipping calculated at checkout.

*this item has been opened to check colour of the vinyl. unplayed*

Following the demise of emo band Mineral in 1997, singer/guitarist Chris Simpson (Mineral/Zookeeper/Mountain Time) and bassist Jeremy Gomez reunited to form The Gloria Record. Taking an acoustic and more organic approach than their previous work, The Gloria Record (with the addition of guitarist Brian Hubbard, drummer Matt Hammon, later replaced by Brian Malone and Ben Houtman on the keys, organs and synthesisers) were unarguably the logical progression from Mineral’s emo throes - quieter, delicate and fervently impassioned. Heralded as a “band with big visions and bombastic sounds”, the quintet fostered their admiration for artists with similar arena sized visions (Radiohead, REM, U2) to produce a sound that was reminiscent of their British contemporaries and American indies.

In 1998 the band released their self-titled EP, followed by the intricate offering of 2000’s A Lull In Traffic and 2002’s full length effort Start Here, before disbanding after extensive US tours in 2004. Now, the band are celebrating the 20th anniversary of A Lull In Traffic, due for re-release by Big Scary Monsters on limited edition yellow vinyl plus an exclusive demo of The Arctic Cat recorded in their practice room in 1999.

Where the Austin, TX based quintet were not quite the biggest or the loudest slow driven indie band that helped define the genre, The Gloria Record were the real deal, leaving behind a legacy that grew to form one of the greatest moments in 90s alt-rock.

1. Miserere
2. A Lull In Traffic
3. The Arctic Cat
4. A Bye
5. Tired And Uninspired
6. The Arctic Cat (Demo)