The Nightingales | Pigs On Purpose
The Nightingales | Pigs On Purpose

The Nightingales | Pigs On Purpose


Call the Void
Regular price
Sold out
Sale price
Unit price
Shipping calculated at checkout.

The first vinyl pressing since 1983 on double blue vinyl with new liner notes. Ripe for rediscovery the sought-after and much acclaimed debut album from seminal Birmingham post punk revolutionaries The Nightingales. This newly expanded ‘Pigs On Purpose’ is remastered by Stuart Moxham with the addition of early demos and non-album singles from this period. The reissue coincides with new ‘King Rocker’ documentary celebrating the life of lead singer Robert Lloyd – a film by Michael Cumming (Brass Eye, Toast Of London), comedian Stewart Lee and James Nicholls (Fire Films, Fire Records).

An early punk classic, The Nightingales’ debut was a strange transmission released as the musical landscape was changing. They were the last important band with roots in the first blossoming of punk and became a major influence upon the explosion of mid-80s indie labels and associated bands.

01. Blood For Dirt
02. Start From Scratch
03. One Mistake
04. Well Done Underdog
05. The Crunch
06. The Hedonists Sigh
07. It Lives Again
08. Make Good
09. Don’t Blink
10. Joking Apart
11. Yeah, It’s Okay
12. Use Your Loaf
13. Blisters
14. Bristol Road Leads To Dachau (demo)
15. Hark My Love (demo)
16. Nowhere To Return (demo)
17. Blisters (demo)
18. Idiot Strength
19. Seconds
20. The Crunch (demo)
21. The Hedonists Sigh (demo)
22. Inside Out
23. Under The Lash
24. Paraffin Brain
25. Elvis, The Last Ten Days

Bonus tracks on DL only
1. My Brilliant Career (live)
2. Which Hi-Fi? (live)
3. Paraffin Brain (live)
4. Use Your Loaf (live)