Tortoise | Rhythms Resolutions & Clusters

Tortoise | Rhythms Resolutions & Clusters


Thrill Jockey
Regular price
Sale price
Unit price
Shipping calculated at checkout.

On golden yellow vinyl.

Tortoise have spent nearly 30 years making music that defies description. While the Chicago-based instrumental quintet have nodded to dub, rock, jazz, electronica and minimalism throughout their revered and influential discography, the resulting sounds have always been distinctly, even stubbornly, their own.

One of the through lines that create that distinctive sound is what might be called a pervasive element of group play, or ensemble-mindedness, as opposed to emphasis on a virtuoso soloist or frontman.

‘Rhythms, Resolutions & Clusters’ follows in this line, as Tortoise turned their iconic early songs over to their friends to play with. The remixes by other legends including Bundy K.Brown, Steve Albini, Jim O’Rourke, Brad Wood (Liz Phair),Casey Rice, Mike Watt (Minute Men) and Rick Brown (75 DollarBill) create a sense of community, and unlimited creativity. It’s been out of print since 1995.

“As with the best of Tortoise, these tracks can be enjoyed on many levels, but when listened to carefully, they reveal seemingly infinite sonic treasures.” – Pitchfork

Tortoise have been in demand and known for their internation altouring, featured at major festivals such as Pitchfork, Big Ears, Le Guess Who and Primavera, among others.

Album comes in reproduction of the original jacket, with artwork and images from Marty Perez and James Warden, designed by Tortoise.

Available to independent retailers on opaque golden yellow vinyl.

Includes digital download codes.

“When Tortoise emerged from the American punk/lo-fi scene in 1993, they redefined the possibilities of rock.” – The Guardian

1. Alcohall (Remixed by John McEntire)
2. Your New Rod (Remixed by Rick Brown)
3. Cobwebbed (Remixed by Casey Rice)
4. The Match Incident (Remixed by Steve Albini)
5. Tin Cans (The Puerto Rican Mix) (Remixed by Brad Wood)
6. Not Quite East of the Ryan (Remixed by Bundy K.Brown – Deep Space Mischief by John Herndon / Also on board: McEntire, Wood & Bitney)
7. Initial Gesture Protraction (Remixed by Jim O’Rourke)
8. Cornpone Brunch (Remixed by Mike Watt)