Trees Speak | Ohms

Trees Speak | Ohms


Soul Jazz Records
Regular price
Sold out
Sale price
Unit price
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Repress on white vinyl.

When the band Trees Speak, coming out of nowhere, released an exclusive one-off 100-pressing white label 45, described as Can / Neu! meets Liquid Liquid, it sold out so quickly (in less than 30 minutes) that Soul Jazz Records decided to release their album almost immediately.

Soul Jazz Records rarely release new music but found the music of Trees Speak’s album Ohms so stunning and to have so many elements of music that they admired that they felt compelled to release it. The group Trees Speak are from Tucson, Arizona and create new music that sounds like German Krautrock meets no wave/post-punk and psych rock - music for fans of Cluster, Tangerine Dream, Can, Neu!, Silver Apples and early Kraftwerk.

The album Ohms sounds at times like a tripped out and moody John Carpenter / Goblin / Morricone soundtrack that seamlessly segues into propulsive, ‘motorik’ Krautrock instrumentals loaded with fuzzy, hypnotic mellotron, synths and analogue effects, as well as elements of Art Ensemble free jazz, and all at times reaching a kind of post-rave psychedelia. More recent comparisons would include Beak> and Ghost Box who draw upon similar themes and styles. Trees Speak relates to the idea of future technologies storing information and data in trees and plants - using them as hard drives - and the idea that Trees communicate collectively.

A1 Soul Squencer
A2 Nitrous Cross
A3 Shadow Circuit
A4 Blame Shifter
A5 Spirit Duplicator
A6 Nobody Knows
A7 Sadness In Wires
B1 State Of Clear
B2 Sleep Crime
B3 Knowing
B4 Splendid Sun
B5 Ohms
B6 Out Of View
B7 Psychic Wounds
B8 Silicone Emotions
B9 Octave Cycle