Various Artists | 200% Dynamite! Ska, Soul, Rocksteady, Funk and Dub in Jamaica

Various Artists | 200% Dynamite! Ska, Soul, Rocksteady, Funk and Dub in Jamaica


Soul Jazz
Regular price
Sale price
Unit price
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Soul Jazz Records’ 200% Dynamite! set the benchmark for reggae meets funk compilations that has never been bettered. Out of print for over 15 years this new 2023 edition is expanded with new tracks.

Jam-packed with reggae tunes that crossed-over to become dancefloor hits such as Tenor Saw’s sound boy anthem ‘Ring the Alarm,’ K.C.White’s classic cut of the seminal ‘No, No, No’ and Augustus Pablo’s ‘Rockers Rock’, 200% Dynamite explores the links between reggae, jazz, funk and soul.

Carrying on perfectly from 100% Dynamite, this second compilation continues to trace the history of Jamaican reggae and the influence of American styles such as funk and jazz had on this music.

Featured here are serious funk and rocksteady tunes from the likes of The Skatalites and Johnny Osbourne through to Jamaican jazz from masters such as Tommy McCook and Byron Lee as well as some serious dub from the likes of Augustus Pablo, King Tubby and Jackie Mittoo.

New bonus tracks on this new 2023 edition include seminal dancehall party cuts Sister Nancy’s ‘One Two’ and Chaka Demus and Pliers’ ‘Murder She Wrote’, alongside classic soul to reggae covers including cuts of Marlena Shaw’s ‘Women of the Ghetto and Odyssey’s ‘Don’t Tell Me Tell Her’.

A1 Augustus Pablo– Rockers Rock
A2 K.C. White– No No No
A3 Tenor Saw– Ring The Alarm
A4 Johnny Organ– Bewitched
B1 Pinchers– Agony
B2 The Abyssinians– Mandela
B3 Sister Nancy– One, Two
C1 King Tubby Meets Tommy McCook And The Aggrovators– King Tubby Dub
C2 Chaka Demus & Pliers– Murder She Wrote
C3 Johnny Osbourne– Ready or Not
C4 Jackie Mittoo– Earthquake
D1 Sandra Reid– Don't Tell Me Tell Her
D2 The Skatalites Meet King Tubby– Herb Man Dub
D3 Kim Harriott– Woman Of The Ghetto