Various Artists | Black Riot: Early Jungle, Rave & Hardcore - Hex Record Shop

Various Artists | Black Riot: Early Jungle, Rave & Hardcore


Soul Jazz Records
Regular price
Sale price
Unit price
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Soul Jazz Records' new Black Riot: Early Jungle, Rave and Hardcore is a brand new collection of heavyweight ragga-influenced hardcore jungle tracks from the early 1990s. Dark and heavy! Featuring classic and seminal tracks from the likes of Levictus and Krome &Time, alongside a host of rare and little-known ragga & junglist hardcore tunes from the likes of Babylon Timewarp's hypnotic Durban Poison, Rhythm for Reasons' mad 'The Smokers Rhythm', The Freaky rave-y breakbeat sound of 'Time and Age,' Trip One's super dark 'Snowball' and loads more!

Expect super heavy basslines, equally heavy twisted Amen drum loops, even heavier ragga vocals! Original jungle style ' roots and culture ' from the earliest days of drum and bass. Included with the first edition of the Black Riot LP is a very limited-edition free graphic mini-novel 'Black Riot: The Mysterons save Planet Earth from the Xatheroid Angels.' This is the third collaboration between writer Paulo Parisi and Soul Jazz Records. This new graphic story continues the story of black electronic dance music ' this time set in London circa 1992 and continues onwards from Soul Jazz's earlier 'Invasion of the Killer Mysterons' (Jamaican electronic dub, co-compiled by Kevin Martin (The Bug)) and 'Mysterons Invade the Jackin' Zone' (about Chicago Acid & Experimental House 1986-93).

1. Rhythm For Reasons – The Smokers Rhythm (5:35)
2. Babylon Timewarp – Durban Poison (5:31)
3. The Terrorist – RK1 (6:25)
4. DJ Dubplate – Tings A Go On (6:28)
5. Leviticus – Burial (Lovers Rock Mix) (6:29)
6. The Freaky – Time and Age (5:08)
7. Trip One – Snowball Remix (6:16)
8. DJ Krome & Mr. Time – Ganja Man (5:54)
9. New Vision – Way Of Life (6:12)
10. DJ Dubplate – Original Rubadubstyle (4:42)
11. Hi Fi Power – Chill Out (Raggafunks U) (4:50)
12. Nu Jacks featuring Ivory Ranks – House Sensation (5:53)