Vashti Bunyan | Just Another Diamond Day

Vashti Bunyan | Just Another Diamond Day


Branch Music
Regular price
Sold out
Sale price
Unit price
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Clear vinyl 2021 repress.

“Produced in 1970 by the legendary Joe Boyd, Just Another Diamond Day has long been considered a holy grail for Brit-folk record collectors, with original copies of the album fetching over $1,000 at auction. It shouldn't take many listens to realize why it's so highly regarded; Just Another Diamond Day is, in its own humble way, nearly a thing of perfection.” PITCHFORK 9.0

Vashti Bunyan’s legendary debut album from 1970 finally gets a UK vinyl repressing. Produced by Joe Boyd for Witchseason Productions and originally released on Philips in 1970, the album features contributions from Fairport Convention’s Simon Nicol and Dave Swarbrick and The Incredible String Band’s Robin Williamson. 

The songs mostly concern the events that took place when Vashti and her lover travelled to the Hebrides in a horse and cart to join up with Donovan’s artistic community but by the tiime they got there that community
had all left.

This story has been brilliantly told in Kieran Evans’ rarely seen 2008 film Vashti Bunyan: From Here To Before.

Side One:
1 Diamond Day
2 Glow Worms
3 Lily Pond
4 Timothy Grub
5 Where I Like To Stand
6 Swallow Song
7 Window Over The Bay

Side Two:
8 Rose Hip November
9 Come Wind Come Rain
10 Hebridean Sun
11 Rainbow River
12 Trawlerman’s Song
13 Jog Along Bess
14 Iris’s Song For Us